www.advoxya-shop.com www.advoxya-records.com

Review by: Marc Tater

Artist: VV.AA.
Title: Post Alcoholic Body Syndrome 2
Format: CD
Label: Advoxya Records info {at} advoxya-records {dot} com ]
Distributor: Poponaut
PABS 2 is the long-awaited sophomore release of this compilation series released by the Hungarian-based Advoxya Records label. No doubt, there has happened a lot in the meantime between the first chapter out at the fall of 2K5 and this new one. Several new and promising acts have joined this label, so with this 15 featured appearances here you’ll get an exclusive look on the current label roster. The best thing on this compilation is the fact, that all participated artists are offering exclusive and previously unreleased stuff, be it new compositions, unreleased versions, or remix works. As usual this compilation offers also a look of some new signed talents and additions to the Advoxya stable – you can be assured that it holds some surprises. It is for example easily to recognize that Advoxya has given it up to concentrate primary all efforts on artists hailing out of Eastern Europe – though they are still present, several additions out of Australia, Argentina, Brazil, Germany or Sweden for instance are proving the international arrangement to which this label has developed through the past months.
So the things are starting Dark Electro-minded with the debut track of DENERGIZED, a new Russian act hailing out of Königsberg. Sounds and kind programming are rather awaking remembrances to some early :WUMPSCUT:-recordings, instead to be victimized by the current hypes. The same can be said on THE-PULSAR (check their interview somewhere else here) providing with “Treasure” a fine worked-out teaser of their next release. Why the hell do I get reminded on some 242-tunes out of the “Tyranny/F... Up Evil”-days by listening this track? The scenario then changes with the Swedish act TWZ, from we could proudly review all of their self-released albums in the past (again: check this site and search for them...). The new track “Redemption” of this trio (they’ve added a female member...) kicks as hell and features heavily distorted male vocals – but their special, almost orchestral-sounding kind to program the bass lines has reserved them their very own and unique niche in the world-wide Electro/Industrial scene. They’ve got a signature – there aren’t out too many acts which can claim this.
Brazils DEAD JUMP a.k.a. Alex Ramos is another newbie signed to Advoxya and with him this comp switches completely over to the notorious troops of the Hellektro camp. Alex provides a remix on his track “Life” created by the Argentinean musician FSJC (ex-SUICIDE SOLUTION), which can be heard originally from his last sold-out studio album. Argentina is also the home country for the next act, DRAINED SCORN – for sure the most unknown artist here. Their track “Reptile Brain” is a breathtaking, speedy Harsh EBM-tune featuring an out-of-the-grave-like vocal performance. Follows then the Russian female/male duo WAVEFALL (also presented somewhere here with an interview) with a new track “Childish Story (From Age 18 Remix)” surprisingly lesser Hellektro-like compared to their last years’ debut “Huge Frustration”. The vocals of Slava are sounding beastly with an almost “rocking” attitude – and did I hear some slight guitar riffs here?
Time again to fulfil a stylistically change, this comp turns now into the regime of the old-school EBM-like tunes. The SEVERE ILLUSION side-project INSTANS offers an alternative version of one of their most anticipated tracks so far, “Hard Work (Harder Version)” – the meaning of the word “blunt” gets some new importance to describe minimal old-school EBM comparable to early and slow POUPPEE FABRIKK or LESCURE 13 – this version of this originally “fun” track fits well with those patterns. No comment or rating on SYNAPTIC DEFECT, since it is my own project – only the mention of the fact that this remix is a more danceable alternative version to the soon to be released original. Czech republic’s IMMUNOLOGY are present with a remix created by their countrymen of MULPHIA – this results in a fine and well done electronic-minded dancefloor tune, but it isn’t too much representative for the usual, a bit Electro-Metal-Crossover-like style of this act.
IMPACT PULSE then like to give a lecture in the contest “how-to-program-a-kicking-bass-line” by offering an unreleased remix of their track “Tears Of Confusion” – skillful arrangements, excellent textures, hi-energetic and danceable Electro music - regarding their once again provided talent, they should take and rule the international scene by storm! Follows then MULPHIA and the again recognition, that their debut release “The Dark Sides“ on Advoxya was a kind of collection of earlier material. “My World Is Over” seems to be newer, therefore a million times more refreshing than before, good work. Comes then Hungary’s SCHYZZO.COM, for sure the most underrated act signed to Advoxya. Already their debut “Interfear’s Network“ has featured an unexpected diversity – but the few new tracks including this appearance make it even more difficult to sort them in. “Dom 24-7” convinces with a straight and clear rhythm/percussion work and almost Electro-Clash-inspired synth textures – the curiosity on their next release grows.
Follows the minimal arranged alternative version of SEVERE ILLUSION’s “I Wish I Was Dead V. 1.1”, which can be originally heard on their recently released new EP. As usual, some slight distorted elements fill in some “dirt” to this EBM track – a trademark for this Swedish duo. With the last both appearances, the Australian act THE CRYSTALLINE EFFECT and Hungary’s NOTHING NADA, this comp reflects now the Future-/Electropop division of Advoxya. THE CRYSTALLINE EFFECT provides an unexpected straight and danceable remix of their track “Jagged”, while NOTHING NADA comes out in their own style, though it is a remix work on the track “One, Two, Free” by an artist named V.E.N.
It’s a bit problematic to fall into superlatives, especially regarding the fact that my own work is featured here on this fine compilation as well. But besides all this, it is a fine done release which got intelligent compiled and collected. The Advoxya roster grows and the shown talent of all acts here should appeal all listeners of genres between Synth-/Futurepop to old-school and Dark Electro up to Harsh EBM – a must-have release for the rivetheads! Check also out the Advoxya shop website, www.advoxya-shop.com for additional merchandise articles to accomplish this compilation, there will be soon T-shirts in black and white available.

1. Denergized "After Tomorrow".
2. The-Pulsar "Treasure".
3. T.W.Z. "Redemption".
4. Dead Jump "Life" (flamethrower mix by FSJC).
5. Drained Scorn "Reptile Brain".
6. Wavefall "Childish Story" (from age 18 remix).
7. Instans "Hard Work" (harder version).
8. Synaptic Defect "Global Genocide" (life and death rmx).
9. Immunology "King Of Demon" (kill all djs mix by Mulphia).
10. Impact Pulse "Tears of Confusion" (rapture module mix).
11. Mulphia "My World Is Over".
12. Schyzzo.Com "Dom 24-7".
13. Severe Illusion "I wish I was dead" v.1.1.
14. The Crystalline Effect "Jagged Edges" (advoxya remix).
15. Nothing Nada "One, two, free" (nightwalker remix by v.e.n.).

Copyright © by Advoxya-HUN All Right Reserved.

[ Go Back ]